Posts

Showing posts from June, 2014

The Secret Bluestocking: Isobel's Traditional Regency Romance by Alicia Quigley

Image
The Secret Bluestocking: Isobel's Traditional Regency Romance by Alicia Quigley

My rating: 3 of 5 stars


I have a great weakness for Traditional regencies, that being said I found Alicia Quigley's The Secret Bluestocking a fun little read. While not perfect it still held my attention to the end.
In the vein of Heyer, Quigley tried to be as authentic to the period with speech and mannerism. I felt at times she tried a little to hard that the speech felt still and didn't flow as nicely. This left the witticism and zingers many trads are know for out. She did an excellent job however creating the regency society world with it's ballroom settings and attention to details such as clothing and appearances.
The book was also filled with it's share of troupes of girl wearing pants and the heroine hiding her intelligence such as Isobel Paley does through story.

Isobel was the main trouble I had with the book. She hid and kept alot of secrets and while understandable …

Scandal's Virgin by Louise Allen

Image
Scandal's Virgin by Louise Allen

My rating: 3 of 5 stars


3.5 Stars

I would find myself getting deeply distressed if I lived in hindsight all the time. - Andrew Lincoln


At times I found myself at odds with the actions of the characters, mostly by the heroine. Louise Allen has tackle the secret baby plot line, this time around the heroine Lady Laura Campion was tricked and lied to, and when she finds out the child she thought she lost is alive she pulls out all the stops in order to be close to her child again.
The road block in the road is her daughter's guardian and now adopted father Avery Falconer, Earl of Wykeham who not only does she fight and does not trust but she is also fighting a strong attraction that may lead her to more hurt or a second chance at love.

In the beginning Laura had all the cards in her favor. She had the truth and proof and could have easily gone up to Avery and put it all on the line. Instead she lies. She hides and then she traps. At times I co…